Last Updated on February 25, 2023 by asifa
Table of Contents
What should I do after I’m arrested for DWI in Louisiana?
You should immediately talk to a lawyer. The earlier you talk to a lawyer, the sooner he will start collecting evidence that’s favorable to your situation. The earlier friendly witnesses could be interviewed, the greater their memories will be of those events that happened surrounding your arrest. Furthermore, some other kinds of physical signs are more likely to be accessible and precise if accumulated in close proximity for an arrest. Again keep in mind that you only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to make an application for an administrative hearing to contest the suspension of your driver’s permit. Please visit our website to know more about Louisiana DWI laws.
Do I have to submit to a Chemical Sobriety Test in Louisiana?
Yes or else there’ll be impacts. Under Louisiana’s implied consent law, any individual, irrespective of age, that operates a motor vehicle upon public highways will be deemed to have given consent to a chemical test or tests of their blood, urine, breath, or other bodily substance for the purpose of determining the alcoholic content of his blood, and the existence of any abused substance or controlled dangerous substance in his blood if arrested for any crime arising out of acts alleged to have been committed while the person was driving or in actual physical control of an automobile while considered to be under the influence of alcoholic beverages or any abused substance or controlled dangerous substance.
If I took a breath test, can an attorney dispute the findings?
There are many problems to the failure of the State to prevail on any of these problems could lead to an acquittal. An example of a Few of Those problems is as follows:
Grounds to prevent you before the arrest? In the event the court decides that he didn’t, then all evidence that was captured after the stop has to be suppressed from use at trial. This will lead to an acquittal.
Can the law enforcement officer really prove that you’re operating an automobile? If he can’t, then the final result will be an acquittal.
Running an automobile on a public street under the influence of alcoholic drinks before he asked that you submit to the breath alcohol test? If not, then he can’t legally request that you submit to the exam.
Will my license be suspended immediately upon a DWI Arrest in Louisiana?
No. Whenever you’re arrested for DWI and you refuse to submit to a breath alcohol or blood alcohol test or submits to breath alcohol or blood alcohol test with a reading of 0.08 or over, the arresting officer will grab your driver’s permit and problem in its place a temporary permit that is good for 30 days. When this occurs you have the right to an Administrative Hearing to decide whether your driver’s permit will be suspended. To be able to acquire an Administrative Hearing you need to use to the DMV, in writing, within 15 days of your arrest. If you don’t timely apply for a hearing, then your driver’s license will be suspended if the 30 day temporary driver’s permit expires.
Read More: How Hearing Loss Affects Your Confidence?